Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTHealth School of Dentistry: Logout Page
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Little Green Books
The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences.
Little Blue Books
Our qualitative research series is a companion to the Little Green Books.
Suggested Methods Books in Health
Health Science Research by
Publication Date: 2002-03-28
For research to be effective, it is essential that every aspect of the study is well planned. Health Science Research has been written to help researchers from all disciplines conduct their studies with this kind of integrity. Each chapter covers a specific area fo conducting a study, including: - formulating the research question - preparing a grant application - subject recruitment - data collection and analysis - interpreting the results of the study This informative text is designed to be a user friendly research, reference and study tool. It has been organised into eight chapters, each of which covers a specific area of conducting a research study. This book will be of particular value to scientists, research assistants, qualified or trainee physicians, nurses and allied health workers. The book will also be an essential companion for students in all disciplines who want to learn more about how to do good research.
Health and Inequality by
Publication Date: 2004-01-31
`At last! A tour de force on cities and health by someone who knows that geography matters. This is a groundbreaking text, preoccupied as much with health and well-being as with death, disease and despair. It is concerned with who wins and who loses from the social and spatial patterning of risk… Combining breadth of coverage with depth of analysis, Health and Inequality provides an intricate map of harmful spaces and healing places, together with some guidelines on how to get from one to the other' - Professor Susan Smith, Ogilvie Professor of Geography, University of Edinburgh 'Too often as health professionals we remain embedded in nursing and medical literature neglecting the opportunities offered through engaging with other bodies of knowledge. Such an opportunity presents itself in this book which draws on work undertaken by geographers that can help us in our thinking about health inequalities. The strength of this work lies in its aim to ensure that place and space are recognised as significant factors in health inequalities' - Community Practitioner Health and Inequality presents a comprehensive analysis of how geographical perspectives can be used to understand the problems of health inequalities. The text has three principal themes: to discuss the geography of health inequality and to examine strategies for reducing disadvantage; to review and develop the theoretical basis for a geographical analysis of these problems - the discussion will illustrate how theoretical developments can help in the design and evaluation of intervention; and to explain how different methodologies in the geography of health, both quantitative and qualitative, can be applied in research - demonstrating the complementarity between them. By relating theoretical arguments to specific landscapes, Health and Inequality will be a key resource for understanding the articulation between theory and empirical methods for understanding health variation in urban areas.
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Issues of health and disease are central to human life, so an understanding of the science of epidemiology, the study of the patterns of disease and injury in human populations, is relevant to everyone. Many areas of study are directly concerned with epidemiological issues, including medicine and nursing, public policy, health administration, and the social and behavioral sciences. The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included. Key Features - Presents a Reader's Guide to organize entries around themes or specific topics and easily guide users to areas of interest - Offers cross-referenced terms, brief listing of further readings, and stable website URLs following most entries - Provides appendices that include a general bibliography to build on "Further Readings," an annotated list of organizations relevant to epidemiology, the standard statistical tables used in epidemiology (t-distribution, F-table, normal [z] distribution, chi-square, etc.), and flow charts to aid researchers in selecting an appropriate study design This resource is a must-have for students, practitioners, researchers, and the informed public who want to know more about health and disease, and related topics.
Handbook of Clinical Nursing Research by
Publication Date: 1999-06-18
This ambitious and long-awaited volume brings together foremost nursing scholars and educators to review and critique the state of nursing research across topics most relevant to current practice. Comprehensive in scope, cogent and truly thought provoking, a book such as the Handbook for Clinical Nursing Research is a must-have shelf reference for every nurse carrying out research or aspiring to conduct research and for those who teach them.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research by
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is a comprehensive and authoritative source on qualitative research methods. The Handbook compiles accessible yet vigorous academic contributions by respected academics from the fast-growing field of qualitative methods in health research and consists of: - A series of case studies in the ways in which qualitative methods have contributed to the development of thinking in fields relevant to policy and practice in health care. - A section examining the main theoretical sources drawn on by qualitative researchers. - A section on specific techniques for the collection of data. - A section exploring issues relevant to the strategic place of qualitative research in health care environments. The Sage Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research is an invaluable source of reference for all students, researchers and practitioners with a background in the health professions or health sciences.