Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTHealth School of Dentistry: Logout Page
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Little Green Books
The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences.
Little Blue Books
Our qualitative research series is a companion to the Little Green Books.
Suggested Methods Books in Psychology
Quantitative Methods in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2009-08-05
Quantitative psychology is arguably one of the oldest disciplines within the field of psychology and nearly all psychologists are exposed to quantitative psychology in some form. While textbooks in statistics, research methods and psychological measurement exist, none offer a unified treatment of quantitative psychology. Doing just that, each chapter covers a methodological topic with equal attention paid to established theory and the challenges facing methodologists as they address new research questions using that particular methodology. The reader will come away from each chapter with a greater understanding of the methodology being addressed as well as an understanding of the directions for future developments within that methodological area.
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by
Publication Date: 2009-10-21
The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches. These two volumes focus on the distinctive characteristics of case study research and its place within and alongside other research methodologies. Key Features presents a definition of case study research that can be used in different fields of study, describes case study as a research strategy rather than as a single tool for decision making and inquiry, guides rather than dictates, includes a critical summary in each entry, which raises additional matters for reflection, makes case study relevant to researchers at various stages of their careers, across philosophic divides, and throughout diverse disciplines.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2007-12-27
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies and research issues in psychology, combining how-to-do-it summaries with an examination of historical and theoretical foundations. Examples from recent research are used to illustrate how each method has been applied, the data analyzed and insights gained. Chapters provide a state of the art review, take stock of what's been achieved so far and map trajectories for future developments.
Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2007-11-08
Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology equips students and researchers in psychology and the social sciences to carry out qualitative data analysis, focusing on four major methods (grounded theory, interpretative phenomenological analysis, discourse analysis and narrative analysis). Assuming no prior knowledge of qualitative research, chapters on the nature, assumptions and practicalities of each method are written by acknowledged experts.
Evaluating, Doing and Writing Research in Psychology by
Publication Date: 2001-05-02
Evaluating, Doing and Writing Research in Psychology represents a comprehensive textbook for all undergraduates in psychology who need to undertake empirical research, taking them step-by-step through the process. In particular, it offers the a range of study skills enabling the student to understand the complex processes involved with psychological research, not really covered in other texts. This is a practical textbook. Textboxes are included to help students comprehend jargon, key research terms and likely problem areas in psychological research. At the end of each chapter, summaries, questions and exercises are included - all designed to give students extra clarification of issues and to help with their overall understanding.