Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTHealth School of Dentistry: Logout Page
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Little Green Books
The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences.
Little Blue Books
Our qualitative research series is a companion to the Little Green Books.
Suggested Methods Video in Sociology
Suggested Methods Books in Sociology
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2003-12-15
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods is a three-volume resource that is a first of its kind, developed by the leading publisher of social science research methods books and journals. This unique multi-volume reference set offers readers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers. Written to be accessible to general readers, entries do not require any advanced knowledge or experience to understand the purposes and basic principles of any of the methods. The Encyclopedia features two major types of entries: definitions, which provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays, discussing the nature, history, application/example and implication of using a certain method. Also included are suggested readings and references for future study.
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement by
Publication Date: 2002-01-16
In addition to hundreds of new references features new to this edition include: a comprehensive introduction to qualitative methods including a review of existing computer applications for collecting and analyzing data; the latest information about the use of computers and online research techniques, including the use of the Internet to locate actual research instruments and journal articles; updated coverage on new scales, internal and external validity, and new analytic techniques with extensive references on each; abstracts, citations and subject groupings by measurement tool of the last five years of the American Sociological Review, Social Psychology Quarterly, and the American Journal of Sociology; extensive coverage of how to prepare manuscripts for publication, including a list of all journals covered by Sociological Abstracts along with the editorial office address and URL for each entry; new coverage of ethical issues; expansion of social indicators to include international coverage; discussion of the importance of policy research with presentation and discussion of specific models as an adjunct to both applied and basic research techniques; and the addition of an index to facilitate the reader's ability to quickly locate a topic.
The SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2011-04-19
This Handbook, edited by internationally recognized scholars, provides a comprehensive, pitch-perfect critical assessment of the bourgeoning field of Social Research. The main features of the Handbook are as follows: 1) Clear organization into 4 parts dealing with The Social Context of Research, Design and Data Collection, Integrating the Analysis of New Data Types, and Sampling, Inference and Measurement; 2) Clear, cutting edge chapters on Objectivity, Causation, Organizing Social Research, Correspondence Analysis, Grounded Theory, Conversational Surveys, Mixed Methods, Meta-Analysis, Optimal Matching Analysis, GIS Analysis, Quantitative Narrative Analysis, and more; 3) Brings together a glittering assembly of the key figures working in the field of Methods today; and 4) Demonstrates the continuities and productive tensions between classical traditions and real world research today.
The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2006-05-09
Bringing together the work of over eighty leading academics and researchers worldwide to produce the definitive reference and research tool for the social sciences, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods contains more than 230 entries providing the widest coverage of the all the main terms in the research process. It encompasses philosophies of science, research paradigms and designs, specific aspects of data collection, practical issues to be addressed when carrying out research, and the role of research in terms of function and context. Each entry includes: - A concise definition of the concept - A description of distinctive features: historical and disciplinary backgrounds; key writers; applications - A critical and reflective evaluation of the concept under consideration - Cross references to associated concepts within the dictionary - A list of key readings Written in a lively style, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods is an essential study guide for students and first-time researchers. It is a primary source of reference for advanced study, a necessary supplement to established textbooks, and a state-of-the-art reference guide to the specialized language of research across the social sciences.