Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UTHealth School of Dentistry: Logout Page
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Little Green Books
The Little Green Books are our famous series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences.
Little Blue Books
Our qualitative research series is a companion to the Little Green Books.
Start Your Research with SRM
SAGE Research Methods can help you with every stage of your research project.
Nearly every research project has 9 main steps:
- Defining a Topic
- Developing a Researchable Research Question
- Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method
- Researching Ethically and Safely
- Reviewing the Literature
- Doing Fieldwork/Gathering Data
- Analyzing Your Data/Findings
- Writing Up
See how SRM can help with each step:
What will you research?
1. Defining a Topic
You may already have a topic in mind, or your topic was assigned to you. If not, search Topic on SRM, and this book chapter entry, “Choosing a Topic” will help you choose a sound area to study.
2. Developing a Researchable Research Question
A research question is more refined than a topic. For help writing your research question, do a search. An encyclopedia entry is a good place to start for an introductory overview.
Design Your Project
3. Designing Your Research and Choosing Your Method
The Methods Map can help you choose a method if you’re not sure which to use. If you already have your method, you can search directly for it. The search results will provide both brief explanations of the method via dictionary and encyclopedia entries as well as in-depth how-tos in book-length entries.
4. Researching Ethically and Safely
If ethics is a concern for your project, SRM contains a number of resources to help.
5. Reviewing the Literature
A literature review is a crucial step to monitor what has already been written about your topic. In addition to resources on writing and conducting your literature review, the SAGE Journals search widget can help you get started from within the SRM platform.
Gather, Analyze, and Present Your Data
6. Doing Fieldwork/Gathering Data
7. Analyzing Your Data/Findings
8. Writing Up
Books with step-by-step information on hundreds of data collection methods are included. In this instance, our researcher has chosen a survey, and Designing Surveys includes steps on writing and organizing the questions, designing and selecting the sample, and tips on reducing sources of error in the collection. Resources specific to data analysis and writing up your findings are also included.
Dissemination might be as simple as turning in your paper at the end of term. If you are completing a dissertation and/or looking to publish, SRM has information on that as well.