Library Resource List, A-Z: Resource Quick Links

This PubMed link is tied to the School of Dentistry's subscriptions. Look for the orange UT SOD Find It button.

Ovid interface of the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine is searchable from 1966 to the present. It provides coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

Embase is a key resource for biomedical evidence, from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Widely recognized as an authoritative source for generating systematic reviews, Embase's comprehensive indexing of trial and study types, reviews and meta analyses ensure maximum searchability.

Provides statistical information to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. Provides information on: most frequently cited journals in a field; highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.

Bibliographic access and descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior

Web-based tool for managing citations. Format bibliographies and manuscripts and import references from a variety of databases Can be used across multiple platforms, including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Individual account sign-up is required.

Exam Master's question bank contains exam practice material for Part I of the National Board Dental Exam. Users must register and set up personal logins with Exam Master in order to create and save their exam questions in the Exam Master database.

UTHSCSA Dental School Oral Health's searchable CAT library. A CAT is a “Critically Appraised Topic” related to a clinical dental problem. UTHSCSA dental students and faculty work together to find and report the strongest, most recent, and most relevant evidence pertaining to dental diagnosis and treatment. This online library rapidly provides users with up-to-date evidence-based answers to focused clinical questions. The CATs are updated as new research is published.

A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making

Embase is a key resource for biomedical evidence, from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Widely recognized as an authoritative source for generating systematic reviews, Embase's comprehensive indexing of trial and study types, reviews and meta analyses ensure maximum searchability.

Shortcut to Clinical Queries tool in PubMed

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.

Free from the National Library of Medicine - provides a portal to current drug information for over 15,000 drugs from NLM and other government sources.

Official information about FDA approved drugs and therapeutic biological products. Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number.

DrugsLearn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

The Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new generic approvals occur to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs.

CRCnetBASE, the award-winning Science, Technology, and Medicine eBook platform from CRC Press, offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. It features 10 million pages of rich content and authoritative resources, allowing librarians to build eBook collections that best fit their patron’s needs and their institution’s budget. And using the mobile app, CRCnetBASE provides anywhere, anytime access to an increasingly mobile academic community. Annual subscriptions and perpetual access options are available as well as netBASE Select which allows customers to build their own collection.

Ebsco ebooks (formerly NetLibrary) provided by UT System ALCEP

Cross-searchable dental reference library

The finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.

The Serials Directory™ provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from more than 108,000 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.

Search the National Library of Medicine by journal title or abbreviation